Why I dont like winters…


I stumbled upon this blog post  on why the author (well ok, blogger) likes winters. And it reminded me of my own allergy to the ‘cold’ season. Though of course, technically there is no such thing as winter, down south of Vindhyas (but then Bangalore, where I stay, is different). So why not, I thought, pen my reasons. Here they go.

  • Time and again, winter conspires to aid breaking my resolution to wake up before 5.30 AM every morning. Unlike in summers, all I feel like doing is snuggling deeper under my blanket
  • Not possible to walk around the house without your chappals or sweater on
  • Can’t switch on the fan or open  the windows without a blast of cold air blowing into your face… brrr…
  • The sniffles and sneezes go up as the temperature moves downwards
  • Night life (not that I have a great one) is crippled – any family outing is restricted to restaurant indoors, where the children can be safe and away from the chilliness
  • Wardrobe dilemmas – just how many full sleeved dresses or sweaters can you stock up for those 4 months

I’ll stop here, though I am sure I can come up with more if I rack my brains (and that shouldn’t take long, as Hermoine points out to Ron in the final book) 😉

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

